Pepsi stages 1st Gatorade Golf Invitational
November 24, 2013

There were no galleries to cheer them on, or game officials to tell the players what they can and cannot do. 
But they did alright—firing away like there’s no tomorrow—with only their comely caddies to help keep tab of their individual scores. After all, in golf, honesty is the name of the game.

Pepsi-Cola Products Philippines Inc.’s (PCPPI) first ever golf tournament, held last November 22 at the world-class Ayala Greenfield in historic Calamba, Laguna, was all for fun, goodwill, camaraderie, and friendship.

The winners were announced following a luncheon buffet—and there was a slew of prizes for practically all the guest players as competing Pepsi executives excluded on account of them being the hosts.

Dubbed as the Gatorade Golf Cup, the field consisted of 44 golfing enthusiasts, representing PCPPI and its industry partners, broadcast and print media practitioners, and selected guests.

PCPPI President Partho Chakrabarti said that “the event could be the beginning of an annual get-together for a competitive yet friendly clash of skills on the golf course.”

Jun Arceo, editor-in-chief of the Impact Golf + Lifestyle magazine, emerged as the overall winner with a score of 69, while Jere Fregil of Gates Inc. was one stroke behind for second place. Both got a trophy and a special edition Pepsi golf bag.

In the print media category, Anton Cabangon of the BusinessMirror won with 70, Alex Magno of the Philippine Star was first runner-up with a score of 71, and Jun Engracia of the Philippine Daily Inquirer was second runner-up with 72.
Anthony Suntay of Solar sports channel topped the Broadcast Division with 71, followed by Jun Nicdao of DZRH with 72, and Delfin Perez of Biz Agenda radio show with 74.

Global Ambient’s Cielo Fregil ruled the Ladies department with 71, while Philippine Star’sMary Ann Reyes had 76 and Impact’s Susan San Pascual 83 for second and third places, respectively.

Among the PCPPI players, Imran Moid, Danny Gregorio, and George Samaco submitted identical scorecards of 71, but Moid led by a net of 10, Gregorio by 13 and Samaco by 22.

In the Guest category, Arthur Ampaya of Muntinlupa City was at his best with 70, with Osmundo Maligaya of Batangas City and Elmer Ngo of Mileage Asia tagging at his coattail with 71 apiece.

Ray Eñano of Manila Standard Today was a winner in his own right, having registered the longest drive that could be at par with professional golfers at 313 yards on Hole 2. 

Like all the other winners in the various categories, he also took home a trophy for his feat.


Related Stories:

Manila Standard Today